Why diversity in literature, and for whom?

While exploring the issues around diversity in library collections for children and youth, I embarked on a quick and random search for books that featured a variety of characters – and that struck my interest.  The many wonderful blogs out there that are discussing deeply the need for more culturally responsive literature overwhelmed me at first.  I noted titles and authors, many contemporary but some much older, and then filtered down to what was actually available to me in my library.  Thus the titles in this blog categorized as “Diversity” are not a fully well-rounded selection – with more readings under my belt, the list of “next to read” has grown exponentially in the weeks since I started – but together they do represent the three ways in which I think of diversity as we look for it in literature.

Some of these stories have strong themes about the experience of being a minority, such as Monster, Stoner & Spaz, and (arguably) Trash.  Whether it’s the African American teenager facing the often unfriendly American justice system, a young man living his life with cerebral palsy with as much humor as he can muster, or three boys fighting for survival in a third world country – the issue of feeling apart from the dominant culture is central to these novels.  These stories offer us a window (and sometimes a mirror) into the experience of their lives so that we might question our own attitudes and biases, on a global level and in our own neighborhoods.  These are the books I recommend to students who are curious if not passionate about social justice, equality, and community. While there is a humorous lightness to some of the dialogue in Stoner & Spaz that is absent in the other two, it offers a raw and sincere portrayal of adolescent life with disability.

Still other stories have characters whose cultures and ethnicities are significant to their lives, but the development from innocence to maturity in their stories is what we really relate to as readers, because it is universal.  The Meaning of Consuelo, The Way and Storm Boy all share this coming-of-age theme.  For Consuelo, her young life in Puerto Rico in the 1950’s is full of doubts, questions, curiosities and ambitions not unlike Cody’s on a modern day reservation.  Both are connected to their families and cultural traditions, but what they share across time and cultures transcends their differences.  These stories give all readers who’ve survived adolescence a mirror in which we might see ourselves.  Although in the form of a folktale, the young man in Storm Boy, too, is embarking on a journey into manhood.

And then there are those stories where non-dominant cultures are present but not really relevant to the story at all.  Leon and Bob, The Good Luck Cat and The Snowy Day feature much-needed, normalized depictions of people who happen to not be white (though Nancy Larrick may justly criticize The Snowy Day for the stereotypical appearance of the mother character, the story of a child’s delight playing in winter has no other notable ethnic references or statements). Additionally, I’m including Barack Obama’s Of Thee I Sing in this grouping because this message to his daughters about the strength and courage of Americans throughout history, though represented in an ethnically diverse cast, focuses on both our accomplishments and unity rather than on ethnicity, privilege, or ability.

So clearly we know the importance of representation in children’s literature, for children without these literary mirrors, who don’t see themselves in the books they are reading, may very well stop picking up books.  Even Walter Dean Myers felt this alienation, albeit temporarily, as a young man even though he had been an avid reader throughout his childhood.  So many blogs and articles, like Elizabeth Blair’s recent NPR story reports, warn us of this danger, especially in young children.

In the community I serve, the other great need for diverse literature exists – that the mostly white, English-speaking, middle class children who live here will benefit from seeing characters of other races in order to appreciate differences and to see sameness.  This is true with respect to racial and ethnic diversity, though I also often see the “Special Ed” branding of some students by others as a symptom of ignorance about the experiences of youth with diverse learning and physical needs; this is one area I especially would like to build in my collection of realistic fiction for young people.

So, what are my strategies for getting more kids into the library?  This has been the most pressing question since beginning my new position recently, diversity issues aside.  My initial response has been to completely revise the policies in my library to make it as child-friendly as possible – to make it warm, inviting, not scary.  I do everything I can to make students feel welcome and noticed: asking for names rather than ID numbers, allowing food and electronics, throwing out privacy-violating book checkout cards, turning off the security gate, granting unlimited checkouts and banishing late fees.  And it’s working – kids are coming back and getting more books, which is truly my first agenda.

Of course, gently getting books to them that will open their minds further is the next step, which requires that I do a whole lot more reading of diverse literature myself, as suggested in a recent SLJ article.  Being so new to the profession and not having a huge repertoire of young adult literature under my belt, book-talking is a weakness of mine, but I’m ever collecting more titles to read, suggest and pass on.  I also really value the power of networking and uniting with other educators who share similar goals and objectives of bringing social justice to our students.  I regularly consult with the other librarian in my school district who offers suggestions for connecting with kids and inspires me to stay connected to these values in our work every day.

Leave a comment